Tutorials > Stories and Scenes

Q: How do I create stories?

Your stories are in your bookshelf. If your bookshelf is empty, you’ll see an area you can click to create your first story.

If you have some stories in your bookshelf, you can add more by clicking the add button.

Q: How do I rename or delete stories?

Click on a story in your bookshelf, and then next to the story tab in the left panel, click the edit button.

This will let you edit your story name, and delete the story entirely. If you choose to delete, you’ll be prompted to confirm that you want to delete your story. Deleting a story is irreversible, and all characters, locations, plots, scenes, etc. will be deleted.

Q: What is the Holding Tank?

In Seequill, your story is made up of chapters, and each chapter contains one or more scenes.

However, you might find yourself wanting to write a scene, but you don’t know to which chapter it belongs. That’s where the Holding Tank comes in. The Holding Tank is where you can work on scenes freely without worrying about where in the story they belong. Just like with any other scene in Seequill, you can tag characters, assign characters to locations, and set a date and time.

Once you’re ready to include those scenes into your story, you can move them into chapters and build your story.

Note: When creating new scenes in the plot grid, the scenes are placed in the Holding Tank.

Q: How do I edit scene details?

Each scene has an edit button on the right of its header.

This will expand the right panel and display the scene’s details. You can also edit the scene’s color, and manage characters and locations for the scene.

An alternative way to edit those attributes is to view the scene’s details in the editor itself. Click on the “Scene Details” icon in the editor toolbar to toggle whether the scene details are displayed in the editor, or in the panel. The icon will be highlighted in green if the scene details are in the editor.

Now, all of your scenes in the editor will display the controls necessary to modify some of the scene’s attributes (e.g. the color). You can use this view to quickly modify several scenes.

Q: How does the scene text version history work?

If you have a membership and are working online, Seequill will maintain a version history of the text of your scene. A new version is not created every time you save, but periodically, if the text of your scene changes during that period.

To view previous versions of your scene’s text, click the Edit icon of your scene, and use the View Text Version dropdown to see the previous versions.

You cannot edit these previous versions, but you can copy from them. Select “(Current)” from the dropdown to return back to the current and editable version of your scene’s text.

Q: How can I restore deleted scenes?

If you have a membership and the scenes have been backed up online, then you can restore scenes that you have deleted. Click the edit button by the story tab to load the story details.

There, you’ll be able to view the deleted scenes by clicking the link.

Clicking a scene will let you review the text of the scene. Check the checkboxes of the scenes you want to restore, and click the restore button. The scenes will be restored into the Holding Tank. However, character and location information will not be restored.

Q: How can I import a story?

You can import Seequill Data Files, which can be created when exporting a story. When you export a story, choose “Seequill Data File”. This will let you download a .sqd file that will be named something like “SeequillExport_1622837341978.sqd”.

When you’re ready to import that story, go back to your bookshelf, and choose “Import Story”:

You will be prompted to select a .sqd file. Choose the .sqd file of your choice and click Next.

Verify that the .sqd data file contains the story that you want to import, and click “Import”.